# Alternative Educational Academy of Iosco County Board Meeting Minutes From October 6, 2020

9:08 - Call to order by Tina Williams

## **Roll Call**

Board Present: Lisa Bolen, John Klinger, Scott Moore, Joe Perrera, Robert Colby (9:11) Staff Present: Dana McGrew, Tina Williams

## Additions to Agenda

Action Items: Approval of hiring Andrea Balliet and Vicki Stonehouse

## **Approval of Agenda:**

Motion Lisa Bolen; Second by Scott Moore to approve agenda as presented Motion passes 4-0

## Approval of Minutes from September 15, 2020:

Motion by John Klinger; Second by Lisa Bolen to approve the minutes. Motion passes 4-0

## **Discussion Items:**

- a. Staffing for 2020-2021 was discussed; Andrea Balliet is being hired to fill the need in student advocacy. This position will replace the School Counselor position that we have been unable to fill. Vicki Stonehouse is a part-time paraprofessional at the Tawas campus. We are seeking board approval to keep her in this position.
- b. Tawas AEA building was discussed; NEMCSA Early-On is still preparing to open
- c. Current Enrollment was discussed; Hale (11), Oscoda (68), Tawas (39), W-P (01), Alcona (14), Other (32)/Total 165
- d. Enrollment process was discussed; the local superintendents noted no concerns
- e. Tina reviewed the Extended Covid-19 Learning Plan, teacher/student communication data

#### **Action Items:**

- Motion by Scott Moore; Second by Lisa Bolen to approve the AEA of Iosco County Extended Covid-19 Learning Plan reconfirmation as presented. Motion passes 5-0
- Motion by Lisa Bolen; Second by Scott Moore to approve the hiring of Andrea Balliet as a student advocate.
  - Motion passes 5-0
- Motion by Lisa Bolen; Second by Scott Moore to approve the hiring of Vicki Stonehous as a paraprofessional. Motion passes 5-0

Motion passes 5-0

## Future Meeting Date

November 3, 2020 9:00 am at IRESA

#### **Community Input**

None

#### **Board Comments**

None

#### Adjournment

Motioned by Scott Moore; Second by Lisa Bolen to adjourn.

Motion passes 5-0

Adjourned at 9:24 a.m.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Tina Williams