Alternative Educational Academy of Iosco County Board Meeting <u>9:00 a.m.-Iosco RESA, Tawas City, MI</u> Minutes-April 4, 2023

9:08 am- Call to order by Scott Moore

Roll Call

Board Present: Joe Perrera, Jeff Yorke, Scott Moore, John Klinger, Lisa Bolen Staff Present: Tina Williams, Jeff Hutchison

Additions to Agenda

None

Approval of Agenda:

Motion Lisa Bolen; Second by Joe Perrera to approve agenda as presented. Motion passes 5-0

Approval of Minutes from March 7, 2023:

Motion by Scott Moore; Second by Jeff Yorke to approve the minutes. Motion passes 5-0

Discussion Items:

- a. Staffing was discussed; AEAI currently has a part-time Paraprofessional position and a fulltime Special Education teacher position posted
- b. Current Enrollment was discussed; Hale (12), Oscoda (85), Tawas (60), W-P (04), Alcona (31), Other (52)/Total 244
- c. Enrollment process was discussed; Scott Moore commented on the continuation of building ways to have students return to the local districts if it is in the students' best interest.

Personnel Action Items:

a. Motion by Lisa Bolen; Second by Jeff Yorke to approve a \$2,500.00 wage increase for IRESA employees assigned to a full-time position at the AEA of losco County for the 2023-2024 school year.
Yeas: Klinger, Perrera, Bolen, Yorke
Nays: none
Abstain: Moore
Motion passes 4-0-1

Discussion Items with Action:

 a. Motion by Joe Perrera; Support by John Klinger to approve the Edmentum Physical Science Curriculum A & B Motion passes 5-0

Future Meeting Date

May 2, 2023- 9:00 am

Community Input

None

Board Comments

Lisa Bolen noted that there is great potential for an Open Meeting violation due to the school board being comprised of four local Superintendents who meet on other occasions. She suggested that the AEA losco board be expanded.

Strategic Planning

Dr. Craig Douglas, Excellence in Education, led the group in a strategic planning session focusing on motivation and vision related to the AEA of losco County. He will be back next month to continue discussion.

Adjourned at 10:58 a.m.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Tina Williams