Alternative Educational Academy of Iosco County Board Meeting Minutes From January 11, 2022

9:06 - Call to order by Scott Moore

Roll Call

Board Present: Lisa Bolen, Robert Colby, John Klinger, Scott Moore, and Joe Perrera Staff Present: Tina Williams, Jeff Hutchison

Additions to Agenda

none

Approval of Agenda:

Motion Lisa Bolen; Second by Scott Moore to approve agenda as presented Motion passes 5-0

Approval of Minutes from December 7, 2021:

Motion by Robert Colby; Second by Joe Perrera to approve the minutes. Motion passes 5-0

Discussion Items:

- a. Current Enrollment was discussed; Hale (12), Oscoda (67), Tawas (53), W-P (03), Alcona (4), Other (27)/Total 166
- b. Enrollment process was discussed; the local superintendents noted no concerns
- c. Tina updated the board on the school meals initiative at the Tawas site. Level 2 Culinary Arts students will be serving lunch to AEA students starting this month.
- d. The board discussed the bid process for the parking lot project (Tawas site). Mike Russo is working on the information needed for the bid. It should be ready on the state website and local papers later this month.
- e. Tina shared that the Robotics team has decided to change programs and will be participating in VEX Robotics. The team previously competed with FIRST Robotics.
- f. ESSER III funds were discussed as well as the results from the stakeholder/public surveys. AEA priority is addressing social/emotional, technology, and academic barriers related to COVID-19.

Discussion Items with Action:

a. Motion by Scott Moore; Second by Robert Colby to approve the signing of the Office of Educational Supports-Request to Relinquish Federal Funds Form for the 2021-2022 school year.

Yeas: Colby, Klinger, Perrera, Bolen, Moore Nays: none Motion passes 5-0

Future Meeting Date

February 1, 2022 9:00 am

Community Input

None

Board Comments

Lisa Bolen shared that NEMCSA received a shipment of COVID-19 tests to be distributed to the public for free. NEMCSA will be advertising distribution sites for each county they serve.

Adjourned at 10:02 a.m.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Tina Williams